Becoming a Technical Writer - The Journey

Becoming a Technical Writer - The Journey

Join me in this article exploring the reasons why i chose to become a Technical Writer.

·

4 min read

Coming from a Law background i always wondered how could i integrate those skills that i'm already familiar with in this new and scary journey i'm taking learning web development and new technologies? That's when it hit me, the best idea i ever had in my entire life reading and writing come like a second nature to me, why shouldn't i start a blog?

🏁 How i got started

Bugs bunny starting race

Oh Lord, first i had to decide on a platform. There are lots of developer oriented blogging platforms out there but Hashnode just clicked with me. Fun fact, i actually created and deleted my account TWICE before actually posting an article 😅.

I had so many thoughts before writing my first article, is this important? , this has already been explained, does my writing even make sense?, and the scary big one nobody's going to read this but when have good things come from comfort zones?.

So my answers to myself were *yes! when you were starting you had no idea what that was, for sure, but not your way, yes????!, remember the first rule of the blog club, you're writing for yourself.

It wasn't that quick, i remember it took me like a week to make up my mind about posting but i thought sometimes you just need to close your eyes, click post, go to sleep and check the app in the morning, hahaha.

So that's how i posted my first article on Functional Programming from my JavaScript For Newbies Series, yes! I made a series??? Helping people and explaining JavaScript concepts in the simplest way i could think of, and people liked it??..!

This community made it so easy for me to get out that mindset of 'why should i write about this with so many articles about it already' to one of 'your voice matters, because it's YOU'.

🌞 What motivates me

Bugs bunny looking dreamy

"To teach is to learn twice." - Joseph Joubert.

One of my most important motivators is when people reach out to tell me an article i wrote has helped them understand a once super technical and complicated concept better, or that they've bookmarked my article to keep going back to it. -i get butterflies🦋-

But when it comes to motivation we also need to look inwards, and personally is the feeling of knowing a subject good enough i can actually write about it -hahaha-, i hold that in a heart-shaped place specially because i'm self-taught.

It's also the ability to have a 'record' and be able to look back on where i used to be (a year ago around this time i didn't even know i'd be started my journey) and where i am now making content and giving back to the community.

✏️ What are my goals

Bugs bunny winner after a fight

  • Give back to the community🌱

As a self-taught i rely on the community to learn most if not all the things i know today, because of selfless commited people who decided to share their knowledge, as i continue to grow in this field i feel the need to do the same for others, to contribute with my grain of sand.

  • Be consistent 📋

This is more like an investment to my future self, when you can stick to a schedule you gain trust in your abilities and this way discipline kicks in when the motivation is low.

  • Create a helpful image 🐣

I truly enjoy writing and sharing content, i want people to feel free to reach out and know i'll do my best to help them, the same way a lot of people have done the same for me before.


Thank you so much for reading! :)

☕If you enjoy my content Buy me a coffee It'll help me continue making quality blogs💕

💙Follow me on Twitter to know more about my self-taught journey!

💜Make sure to check out more upcoming articles on my Technical Writer Journey Series

❤️ Also subscribe to my Youtube Channel !

🖤And for more content and tips on TikTok !

💛Second article on this series you can find on my Web Design for Beginners Series! :)